Paint Exploration

As I continue to decorate my new apartment I have moved on to the kitchen. I am having huge issues with finding the right paint color, or rather the right color at the right price. I have found my “dream yellow” however, a gallon of it will cost me a whopping $79.50. Nice. Thanks Farrow & Ball for being in England. Hasn’t the pound dropped? Well anyways, this color has been suggested to by the Farrow & Ball book, as well as reinstated by Apartment Therapy to be a great color for smaller rooms.  My kitchen being 10′ x 10′, is a small room.

yellow-1

The other problem with this color is that it’s impossible to find a substitute. Pale Hound is a warm/neutral/cool yellow all in one. When you look at it on the wall its a beautiful warm yellow, put next to another yellow, it has a green undertone and put it next to a green there is a clay undertone. There is just so much depth in the color, its so hard to recreate.  First I looked through all of the yellows available by Benjamin Moore and there wasn’t one that had a similar tone or depth to the F&B color. I also checked Pratt & Lambert, no luck. Then I got this great idea to go to the Green Depot, because I was told this place will match any color swatch. Its eco-friendly and its only $40.00! So I went for it. Too bad, they couldn’t create the color either. I’ve ended up with a color that looks like Pale Hound on paper, but on the wall looks is a weird green. Its so strange and I’m so bummed that the paint has to be $80.00 a gallon.  So my search continues, should I just bite the bullet?

3598150182_9e8c5e4902_o

Pale Hound is used in the dining area. Its so pretty. xJavierx

Leave a comment

Filed under Apartment, Home, New York

Leave a Reply

