My Style in One Picture


Wow! What a challenge! the blog From the Right Bank has asked their readers to post ONE IMAGE of a room that would sum up their style.  I did a lot of soul-searching and archive searching trying figure this out.  In a few words I would say that my style is: Traditional Comfort, with a touch of Glamour.  I came up with a list of certain qualities that must be present to represent my style.  Those are:

Book shelves full of books:  Books are beautiful.  Books are influential. Books are educational. Books are entertainment.  And I believe one’s library will tell you a lot about that person.  Their books reflect their interests, their taste, and in some cases their IQ level.

Picture walls:  I love walls filled with pictures.  I love art and looking at it.  I also love the patterns and dimensions picture walls can create in a space.

Color:  I love a balance between punches of color and neutrals.  Bright colors bring vibrancy to life, while neutrals settle one’s mind, creating stability.

Light:  Light is so important to me in a space.  I am most happy in my apartment when the sun is shining in and space is enveloped in light.

Pattern:  Patterns create mood,  interest and movement in a space.  I also like how you can pick up any patterned object or textile and know exactly when in history it was designed.

History:  In everything I love, I seem to find that there is a sense of history involved.  Because I believe that every design decision should be intentional and relevant, having a understanding of historical influences is very important to my sense of style.  I always want to figure out why I love something and where it comes from first before I use it in my designs.

Other aspects of my style include french chairs, hardwood floors (french zigzag parquet floors are my favorite), mirrors and lastly, hints of chinoiserie influences.

The image that I found was pulled from an issue of Domino Magazine (Sep 2008).  The living room of Tori Mellott’s (the decoration editor who now is the contributing editor for Lonny Mag) apartment is the best representation of my style.  Her entire apartment suites my taste and of course the room I chose as my one image can’t have everything I love, because it would be far too much for this small space; but if you look at the rest of the place now available on brides.com, you can see how most of my qualities are exhibited in her apartment.  I also chose this apartment as my style representation, because for this time in my life, it is the most realistic.  My style has to reflect my life, I live in a 450 sq. ft space in New York City.  Everything I chose to put in my place, needs to be practical and fit in with my lifestyle.

photographs by Anne Schlecter

Here are some other rooms that I love, but just couldn’t make the cut:

Images pulled from Lonnymag, House Beautiful, Elle Decor, and Living Etc.

2 Comments

Filed under Apartment, Home

2 responses to “My Style in One Picture

  1. Judith

    I would happily live in everyone of your rooms except the kitchen one. My favorite is the one you chose that most represents your style though I would need more color.

  2. Val

    Love them all!!! Wouldn’t it be fabulous to have an unlimited budget and be able to do EXACTLY what you wanted in your space?? I love the chinoiserie in the kitchen with the malachite-colored baby cabinet–a color combo that I wouldn’t have come up with. Wonder where you come up with that love of books….hmmmmm.
    Keep it coming,
    Val

Leave a Reply

